Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 8th March 2015, 16:13   #1
supersnad
Regular poster

Rover 75

Default Rover 75 engine seizure

Just an update about my Rover75 1.8 petrol car with the seized engine.It looks like it's something internal,rather than the obvious ,cambelt and starter motor.I put it up for sale for spares or repair on Gumtree at £275 but had no takers.I'm presently driving my son's Vectra,and my Rover is sitting in the car park looking immaculate as usual, and i don't know how i'm going to get rid of it,as i've been driving all types of cars for 50 years now,but this is the first car i fallen in love with.
I might be able to get a mechanic ,who my son knows very well and has done a lot of welding work for him, to strip it down just to find out if it can be saved.Fingers crossed.
What is it with these Rover 75s that have that effect on you?
Brian
supersnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2015, 16:19   #2
KWIL
Precise

Rover 75 Tourer 2.5KV6 Connoisseur SE

Engine transplant should solve your problem, some help this guy to save his beloved!!
KWIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2015, 16:35   #3
Doc Evil
Gets stuck in

Rover 75 1.8 Classic Saloon

Hi Engines go for £100-200 from scrapyard, not much more for a known runner from one of the forum trader's and a day to swap including changing the belts and water pump I'm sure you will get some volunteers to help you

Doc
Old 8th March 2015, 17:21   #4
minimutly
Posted a thing or two

mg zt

Yes by all means strip the engine to asses spares suitability, but don't waste any money on it. Look for an engine with known history of not being overheated.
Fit new belt, water pump and stat, and pop her in, cheapest option if your car is a good un.
Huw
minimutly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2015, 20:07   #5
SD1too
Doesn't do things by halves