Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 15th June 2020, 17:25   #1
Mean & Green
Regular poster

MG ZR

Default 1.8 Turbo hesitation/stutter under full throttle

Hi chaps,

Been having an issue with my recently acquired ZT-T. I’m aware this seems to be a common issue when researching online, but many threads seem to just go dead without a confirmed solution.

Under full throttle the car pulls very cleanly up to about 4.5k - 5k RPM and then stutters sometimes violently, until it clears itself at around 6k RPM. Sometimes it’s not too bad, but it always does it.

So far I’ve replaced the plugs and gapped them at 0.6mm. Inspected the hoses from the boost solenoid valve and replaced the solenoid valve with a brand new one.

I initially thought the new solenoid valve had improved things, but driving home from work today proved otherwise. I’m new to the turbo K series and as far as I can tell the pipework looks ok.

I’m now wondering should I change the coils and HT leads, or could I be wasting money on that if it’s more likely something else? I’m happy to replace things as I go, but I don’t want to be swapping parts for the sake of it.

I’ve read mentions of sticking wastegate actuators, but can’t seem to find any images to help show me what I’m looking for. Like I said I’m new to the turbo, so bear with me for being stupid.

Appreciate any advice or pointers in the right direction.

I should mention the car had a HG replacement in March before I owned the car, so I’m hoping I can rule out a dodgy inlet manifold gasket, the car also has a metal inlet manifold not the plastic type.

Thanks.
Mean & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2020, 17:57   #2
marinabrian

MG ZT

Thanked 10,837 Times in 5,718 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mean & Green View Post
Hi chaps,