Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Social Forums > Technology Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st July 2021, 17:01   #11
Jamiewelch
Trader
 
Jamiewelch's Avatar
 
L322 Range Rover

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Cheslyn hay
Posts: 751
Thanks: 47
Thanked 227 Times in 180 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macafee2 View Post
I'm going for broke. I have ordered a combined TV with RJ45 face plate. I am not spending any more time on this "RJ11".

Thank you one and all for the advice

macafee2
Make sure when you recrimp the connector that you trim those cables right down! That's asking for trouble them being that long untwisted.
__________________
Full T4 Diagnostics Available (Rover & Land Rover)
Diesel X-Power and Bespoke Remaps
1.8T 150 - 160 Upgrades
V6 160 - 177 Upgrades
Dealer Options
ECU Repair / Replacement
Virginisation / Programming
Loom Retrofits
Replacement Keys

PM for more details
Jamiewelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2021, 19:31   #12
macafee2
This is my second home
 
Rover 75 Saloon & Tourer

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 12,160
Thanks: 1,379
Thanked 2,566 Times in 1,825 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamiewelch View Post
Make sure when you recrimp the connector that you trim those cables right down! That's asking for trouble them being that long untwisted.
somewhere I have a proper BT inserting and cutting tool.
The new socket still has not arrived.

macafee2
macafee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2021, 21:42   #13
T-Cut
This is my second home
 
Rover75 and Mreg Corsa.

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sumweer onat mote o'dust (Sagin)
Posts: 21,595
Thanks: 334
Thanked 3,536 Times in 2,858 Posts
Default

I believe this cable would do what you want: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/224463809...gAAOSwSUlgoScw
TC
T-Cut is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to T-Cut For This Useful Post:
Old 5th August 2021, 21:57   #14
macafee2
This is my second home
 
Rover 75 Saloon & Tourer

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 12,160
Thanks: 1,379
Thanked 2,566 Times in 1,825 Posts
Default

Just had a thought

If I have a cable with RJ11 plugs at each end, can I remove one and fit an RJ11 plug?

Would that work? Which pins of the RJ45 plug would I use?

macafee2
macafee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2021, 17:53   #15
mbonwick
Gets stuck in
 
Connoisseur SE 1.8 Auto Saloon

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Kendal
Posts: 605
Thanks: 128
Thanked 160 Times in 136 Posts
Default

If you want your network to run at 1Gbps, which 99% of kit these days supports, you need all 4 pairs (8 wires) in place. As an RJ11 only has 3 pairs (6 wires) at best, its of no use.
mbonwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2021, 21:25   #16
macafee2
This is my second home
 
Rover 75 Saloon & Tourer

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 12,160
Thanks: 1,379
Thanked 2,566 Times in 1,825 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbonwick View Post
If you want your network to run at 1Gbps, which 99% of kit these days supports, you need all 4 pairs (8 wires) in place. As an RJ11 only has 3 pairs (6 wires) at best, its of no use.
I would say thank you if I understood
I want to run my BT set top box via a LAN, if that is the right word, cable.
How many wires from an 8 core LAN cable do I need to use? The set top box has an RJ45 socket but how do I know how many wires are used? Take the thing apart and look?

macafee2
macafee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2021, 21:00   #17
mbonwick
Gets stuck in
 
Connoisseur SE 1.8 Auto Saloon

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Kendal
Posts: 605
Thanks: 128
Thanked 160 Times in 136 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macafee2 View Post
How many wires from an 8 core LAN cable do I need to use? The set top box has an RJ45 socket but how do I know how many wires are used? Take the thing apart and look?

macafee2

You need all 8 cores. Similarly all 8 pins/cores will be wired in your set top box. No need to take it apart - this is the standard.


RJ11 can only fit upto 6 cores due to its smaller size, and normally only 4 cores are present in the cable (as that's all that is needed for phone/voice) - hence it is not suitable for network use.


You're wasting your time looking for adapter cables etc - the quickest and easiest way forward is to get a proper faceplate, RJ45 module and coax module and redo the outlet.
mbonwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2021, 22:04   #18
macafee2
This is my second home
 
Rover 75 Saloon & Tourer

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 12,160
Thanks: 1,379
Thanked 2,566 Times in 1,825 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbonwick View Post
You need all 8 cores. Similarly all 8 pins/cores will be wired in your set top box. No need to take it apart - this is the standard.


RJ11 can only fit upto 6 cores due to its smaller size, and normally only 4 cores are present in the cable (as that's all that is needed for phone/voice) - hence it is not suitable for network use.


You're wasting your time looking for adapter cables etc - the quickest and easiest way forward is to get a proper faceplate, RJ45 module and coax module and redo the outlet.
Thank you, I've been unsure about the RJ11.

I ordered a new face plate with a Tv point and an RJ45 socket. It arived today but I have been to busy today to fit it and have a few busy days ahead so will try it asap

macafee2
macafee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2006-2020, The Rover 75 & MG ZT Owners Club Ltd