Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 16th July 2008, 19:36   #1
Depecherob

MG ZT CDTi 135+ Facelift Commission number 23816

Default 20 minutes of motoring joy...

I bought my ZT CDTi 135 facelift about a month ago. I had never owned a diesel before so didnt know what to expect as far as performance was concerned. It didnt feel very quick and (as posted elsewhere) had little acceleration low down. You guys suggested cleaning the MAF, which sounds like a good idea but, as I am not a mechanic, I was a bit wary of what needed to be disconnected / removed so I left it alone. The car was fine going to and from work and I altered my driving style to compensate for any sluggishness.
Today I just had a day trip to Bridlington (very nice, actually). I went along the M62 and off near Goole to Driffield where I encountered some queues. I stopped the car (left the engine running) to consult my map to find a way across country on the lanes. Finding my way I set off... it was like someone had flicked a switch! I had a turbo! I could go up hills! I overtook some cars! Amazing! I was grinning, everything was great. I arrived at Brid parked up for a few hours had a wander about, anticipating the drive home. Alas, the car was back to "normal" again, no turbo no uphill pull without changing to 3rd/2nd Don't think about overtaking . Was it all a dream?

Right, what do I need to do? Should I go for the Roverron pierburgh and mafam. Can a mechanical incompetant like me fit one? Is the facelift MG engine bay different to the pre facelift one? How does that clip come off the top of the MAF?
Here is a pic of the MAF area, it doesnt look to me as if, when the engine cover is removed, one could get access to the top of the sensor to remove it. Can you enlighten me?

Give me back my Turbo, please...