Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Social Forums > Touring Boating Camping & Caravan Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 5th July 2010, 12:00   #1
Monster3969
Regular poster

MG ZT V6 190

Default Info needed about Wigan, Blackburn/Burnley and Skipton areas.

Hello folks.
This may sound like a strange request, but stay with me on this one.
During September time i am planning to Kayak the Liverpool to Leeds Canal in a 13ft Kayak, in the name of Charity. This is a trip of about 127 miles in total. I have done this once before about 8 years ago on a mountain bike, and i have now decided to do it again on the water this time. I am planning to do this over a period of 4 full days, working on roughly 32 miles per day, which doesn't sound much, but will be very hard going. I am not a professional Kayaker and have never done it before until about 2 months ago when i bought the Kayak and started training.
Here is why i need some info. I am planning to complete the trip on my own and do not have the luxury of a support team. I am planning on sleeping in a tent at night in certain locations along the route, and this is why i need the info. I need to know if there are any Pubs, Scout Huts, Camping sites, back gardens etc etc, that are next to or in very close prox to the canal, where they will let me get my head down overnight in my little tent. A toilet would be a bonus and somewhere to cook, but i will have a stove with me as well. Hopefully on the 2nd night, i will get a helper to meet me and replemish my supplies for the next two days. And am planning to be at the following locations along the trip:
Night one. Wigan area, possibly Lower Standish.
Night two. Somewhere between Blackburn and Burnley but hopefully closer to Burnley
Night three. Skipton, preferably Kildwick.