Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Notices

Old 4th June 2019, 06:21   #1
Gate Keeper
This is my second home

4X4

Thanked 7,017 Times in 4,160 Posts
Default Chain saw advice please

My nephew has the STHL 660 chain saw and he said it is unusually running high RPM at idle and he doesn’t know why or how to correct it. I am not an engineer but I know we have some clever people on the forum who might know the answer to his chain saw problem?
Gate Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2019, 06:33   #2
trikey
Premium Trader

Rover 75

Thanked 14,831 Times in 8,030 Posts

First thing to check is a sticky cable or switch Phil, the throttle may not be returning to its stop position.
Old 4th June 2019, 07:25   #3
Gate Keeper
This is my second home

4X4

Quote:
Originally Posted by trikey View Post
First thing to check is a sticky cable or switch Phil, the throttle may not be returning to its stop position.
Thanks Andy, I will pop round and have a look. I will let you know how it goes.
Old 4th June 2019, 08:28   #4
Number 6
This is my second home

Rover 75 tourer Club CD/Limo Tints

Thanked 1,609 Times in 869 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gate Keeper View Post
My nephew has the STHL 660 chain saw and he said it is unusually running high RPM at idle and he doesn’t know why or how to correct it. I am not an engineer but I know we have some clever people on the forum who might know the answer to his chain saw problem?
It should have a throttle stop/adjuster on it.If you can locate that then run it up to temp and see if you can adjust it to slow it down.

That what I did with mine.

http://www.madsens1.com/saw_carb_tune.htm

"I started out with nothing, and Ive still got most of it left!"

Last edited by Number 6; 4th June 2019 at 08:32..
Number 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2019, 17:13   #5
Gate Keeper
This is my second home

4X4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Number 6 View Post