Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 3rd November 2009, 15:23   #1
someboy0
Loves to post

Rover 75 Connoisseur SE 2.5 V6

Thumbs down Break pedal sinking / break fluind leakage possible

I've had a look at the past posts and threads on here to try to see if there is a sollution but couldn't find so I thought I could make a new thread.

So, the problem is as follows. With the engine running, if you press the break pedal hard it goes to a certain point and than starts to slowly depress further, apparently that is nothing to worry on its own BUT, the break fluid seems to magically dissapear as well somewhere and I don't know where because I can't see it under the car or on the insides of the wheels, the servo is working fine (I assume from what I've read about what it's suposed to do etc. I'm not a mechanic and have a very small techincal knowledge) so could it be the break master cylinder? Maybe some of the things that the fluid goes through are leaking? Any ideas? I've read somewhere that if it would be leaking into the servo than a smoke would be comming out of the exchaust, and that is not happening. I don't know how long ago the break fluid was changed but my guess would be over 2 years ago but as it's leaking somewhere at the moment I can't see a point in changing it right now cause at the moment we have to just put some more in when we want to drive the car which we don't since we detected the fault, also the breaking performance has decreased.

It is a Rover 75 W reg 2.5 V6

Any kind of reply would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.
someboy0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2009, 16:43   #2
T-Cut
This is my second home

Rover75 and Mreg Corsa.

Thanked 3,660 Times in 2,924 Posts