Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Notices

Old 23rd August 2019, 20:36   #1
Odd Job
Gets stuck in

MG ZT 2.0 cdti

Default Air Conditioning Question

Hi everyone,

Ive got a weird thing going on with my air conditioning, and I wonder if anyone can offer any help before I take it to a garage and potentially get ripped off.

Firstly, I've had, and driven plenty of cars with A/C fitted. This is the first time I've come across this, I'm no expert. But I know the basics of how A/C works etc.

I currently have also a MG ZS which has fully working A/C , my ZT is my replacement for the ZS which is up for sale.
I digress.

OK.
So, my ZT after roughly about 20 mins with the A/C on only slightly cools down the air coming out of the vents.
I was hopeful that all it needed was a re-gas, but it does have a "wuring" noise when it's switched on as well.
A work college kindly lent me a DIY A/C re-gas kit this evening which I used.

Initially I thought it hadnt worked, but after taking the car out for a run, the air out of the vents is quite a bit cooler.

But.....

When i stop at a junction or traffic lights etc, there is noise that starts up, like a whooshing noise, sort of like the sound of air traveling through a pipe. After you sit for quite a while the A/C pump switches itself off and you get atmospheric temperature air out of the vents.
When you set off driving, the A/C kicks in again and you get cold air.
Pull up. Whooshing noise. A/C stops. Warm air comes out of the vents, pull away. A/C kicks in etc, etc, etc

Does anyone have any ideas?

### MG STANDS FOR "MY GREMLIN" !!!

Last edited by Odd Job; 23rd August 2019 at 20:39..
Odd Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2019, 20:47   #2
SCP440
I really should get out more.......

MG ZT-T 260