Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Notices

Old 5th September 2012, 01:09   #1
pargyle

Rover 75 Tourers x 2

Default Replacing In-tank Fuel Pump Rover 75 Tourer

Hi there, I’m a Newbie and this is my first post but I am very grateful to the forum as without it I would not have attempted changing the in-tank fuel pump on my Rover 75. There is an excellent How To post which shows the standard fuel pump being changed for a Peugeot pump and this was very useful, but there are a few things that are not specifically mentioned that left me scratching my head …. Indeed, even with the assistance of the How To it took me over 6 hours to fit a new pump – but now, knowing how it all comes apart and goes back together, I reckon I could more than cut that time in half. I probably spent more time scratching my head and re-looking at the various instructions I had available than I did actually doing the job ….

The quote from the local garage to do the job was £600 (not inc VAT) so I reckon I’ve saved well over £500 doing it myself; I’m only a competent DIY mechanic, not a professional, so if I can do it then virtually anyone with some car diy skills should be able to !

I bought the Mkon replacement pump which cost me just over £80 with postage. The instructions that come with this unit (and also available on his website) are also useful reading – but a little lacking in some respects … However, those instructions and the How to on this Forum along with the Haynes manual pointed me in the right direction most of the time. I had some concerns about how easy it would be to fit a replacement pump barrel/module to the existing cage and pondered (only for a couple of seconds) buying the complete tank unit – but at between £185 and £350 for the whole tank unit it was a no brainer and my fears about fitting it proved unfounded in any case.