Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Notices

Old 19th May 2016, 06:04   #1
Matt 75

Rover 75 Connoisseur 2.5 launch car

Default Tepid heater temp

Morning all

My first ever post.

I'm new to 75's but an experienced vehicle technician.

I replaced the cambelt and water pump on my 2005 75 1.8t Connoisseur tourer at the weekend and, when on max temp, the heater isn't getting anything beyond tepid.

So, air lock is the first port of call. Bled the system again, used the bleed screw in the metal pipe above gearbox and still no great improvement.

Top heater pipe gets stinking hot but lower only gets reasonably hot which still suggests air lock or blocked matrix.

Dash temp gauge is bang in the middle and the radiator fan cuts in/out exactly as it should do.

Don't know if the climate system uses the external temp sensor to monitor temps but mine does constantly say 45.5+ degrees outside so know it needs a new sensor.

Anyway, just seeking some advice from those more experienced working on these in case I've missed something obvious.

Thanks in advance

Matt
Matt 75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 08:36   #2
chipsceola
This is my second home

Jaguar XF 3.0D

Hi Matt, welcome to the forums, your 1.8 along with all other versions has a useless temp gauge, best place to start is using the on-board diagnostics to obtain accurate data. Dashboard temp gauge sits in middle from circa 75/115 C as standard.

All you need to know about OBD you will find here courtesy of T-Cut

chipsceola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 09:26   #3
T-Cut
This is my second home

Rover75 and Mreg Corsa.

Thanked 3,660 Times in 2,924 Posts

The bypass feed to the heater is normally at the same temperature as the top hose. So, I'd say there's insufficient flow through the matrix. Logically, there's a blockage from silt or an air lock in it.