Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > I.C.E. Forum > Sat Nav Hardware & Software > Double Din Navigation Systems
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 6th August 2010, 12:45   #1
Mr Edd
From the Horses Mouth

2012 Honda Oddessay and 1996 Ford Ranger Truck (Splash)

Default 2 Din Head Unit Cable Connections?

2 Din Cable Connections

First let me say that I am not an expert and this stuff is as new to me as it is to you. One of the reasons why I am posting this is to get answers and maybe; just maybe, help others to get some too.

The following is my experience on installing these 2 Din units which may differ from yours. Hopefully our combined efforts will be of some help to others.

I am installing the Chinese 2 Din Head Unit with all the toys which I bought of RadioGuy (Sean). I have to say from the outset I think it is a fantastic bit of kit. My only disappointment is the total lack of instructions for installing it. Now let me say from the start it is really fairly simple and most features are plug and play. But there are a myriad of different cables of all sorts of colours which; lets face it, do not match any of the cables in the cars loom. Quite understandable, but this is the main problem.

It seems that most peeps are having all sorts of trouble trying to figure out which cable from the unit connects to which cable in the cars loom behind the dashboard. I hope that between us we can sort this out and make this a reference point for future buyers.

First there are two main cable groups that come with the unit.

Each of these have numerous coloured cables most with labels. If you have the old BMW loom like this...

you will require an adaptor which allows all these cables to plug into the BMW loom. One of these...