The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums

The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Social Forum (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   No going back now....................... (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=278066)

FLYING BANANA 14th January 2018 13:36

No going back now.......................

........................................... 2018 is looking up for me. Yesterday I completed the first stage of selling my flat in Barkingside. A very nice, and knowledgeable, young lady took me through all the do's & don'ts about selling and buying. Especially as I've never done anything like this before, lived in the flat all my life, I was even born here.

Mum moved in 1940 with my Big Brother and her sister, Dad was away fighting those pesky foreigners. The property was built in 1937, so we was the second owners. Dad came home unscathed from the fight, although he had landed on the beaches with the 11th Armoured Brigade. They went into Germany via Belgium.

When Dad came home, Mum's sister moved out. In 1949 my Big Brother asked Mum & Dad if he could have a bike for his birthday and Xmas present. But I turned up instead.
My Big Brother left to do his National Service, loved it so much he signed up for another 9 years, not sure what the RAF were letting themselves in for. He met his first wife whilst serving in one of those far away distant places, Chippenham in Wiltshire.
Dad bought the flat in 1969 for £752.8s.10d. No mortgage, just a bank loan through the Westminster bank, before they became the NatWest.

We lost Dad in 1982, and I stayed at home to look after Mum whose health was not too good. And still holding down a full time job. Met my Val who moved in. Mum had to explain to the home help why all these dresses suddenly appeared in my room over one weekend. Mum passed away in 1991.