The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums

The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Social Forum (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Imperial Measures (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=319367)

mbev51 29th May 2022 05:29

Imperial Measures

Hi, ive just read on BBC website that to mark the Queens Platinum Jubilee, theres going to be some announcement about reverting back to Imperial units. I hope this will only be a symbolic gesture and not a real full reversal of our partial metrication. As an ex maths teacher i know how much a full reversal will affect the national curriculum. It would have to be re written for mathematics and im sure kids would find it so much harder to deal with. Ive heard of muttering about this before, i suppose it fits into the idea of taking back control after Brexit.

Borg Warner 29th May 2022 07:20

It's a review:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/61621893

And:

The UK copied the law over when it left the EU to smooth its exit, but the review will now look at how, if at all, the regulation should change.

The BBC understands there is not expected to be any move away from metric units.

Nothing to see here, move along.

Oh I think there's going to be a change on which side of the road we drive on. From 1st Jan 2024 m/cycles, cars and light vans will be required to change over. 1st if April it will be vehicles up to 7.5 tons (not tonnes). Then if all goes well, all vehicles including hgvs, coaches and busses.

macafee2 29th May 2022 07:41

Is imperial taught in schools?
Some of us oldies flit between metric and imperial. Sometimes I prefer using imperial, sometimes I prefer using metric, depends on what I am measuring.

macafee2

StewartIngram 29th May 2022 07:46