The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums

The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Photography Corner (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=49)
-   -   Macro photography (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=269859)

Phil 2nd July 2017 11:01

Macro photography

Hi, currently, I am using a Tamron 18-200 lens for all my photography, having results I am pleased with.
However, wanting more, I'm considering getting a macro lens, as I'm getting quite inspired by all the bug shots!!

I'm not particularly enthusiastic about carrying loads of lenses about or changing lenses over, so was wondering, would a lens such as this one be any good for what I want?
Good zoom and close up detail??

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/cameras...24555-pdt.html

Otherwise, does anyone have any recommendations?

Sorry if this is a silly question, I'm still learning!

Rocket 2nd July 2017 11:26

I reckon that one may be OK for butterflies and whole flower shots but you will not be able to get really close up head shots of bees etc. Depends what what you want to do really.

Most people start off wanting to see the pimples on bee's nose:}

That lens would get you started. You could buy extension tubes for not a lot of money - that would mean you could shoot even closer.

Edit: This guy really understands bug shooting in the wild - which is different to indoor macro shooting of small objects. Worth a read and he has the answers to just about every question. He mentions zoom lenses with a macro setting a little way down. ON THE HARDWARE BASICS MENU

http://macroshooting.com/Macro_Flash_Brackets.htm

Phil 2nd July 2017 12:18

Thanks for the information.

I want to get as much detail as possible, capturing the whole insect so perhaps that one should be given a miss.
I will check the link out when I get home.

Can you recommend a decent macro lens, or point me in the right direction? Budget around £300...